Kia Sedona SXL – MoVernie 1st Drive

IMG_2247

This past long weekend, we had decided to make a road trip up north to a cottage to relax and to enjoy some cottage life. This mini road trip allows us to checking out the nature and the beautiful landscape that Ontario has to offer. So….to drive up to the cottage life in style, I had requested a brand new 2015 Kia Sedona from Kia Canada. As Kia’s slogan “The Power to Surprise” summed it up, this Sedona came with lots of goodies and good surprises! I thank Kia Canada for providing me with this top-of-the-line “SXL” trim level for a week long driving experience.

Sedona is a minivan that sits 7 people spaciously and comfortably. The 2nd row in particular, feels like a first-class airplane ride as it comes with 2nd row captain chairs with armrests, airplane headrests, top quality of leather material and state-of-the-art reclining capabilities.

I will have a whole week to test drive and experience this smooth ride. For now, from my first drive, let me highlight (see below) some of the features that this Sedona SXL offers that really stood out that I want to share with you right away.

Follow me on Instagram (@RealMoVernie) and Twitter (@MoVernie) for more awesome pictures and videos on my life spending with the all-new 2015 Kia Sedona SXL! Thank you @KiaCanada for providing me with the vehicle.

This Sedona SXL comes with a 3.3L V6 that pumps out a powerful 276hp and generates 248 lb-ft of torque. This engine is powerful and good to haul 7 people and still have ample of horses left to accelerate and experience the joy of driving in the countryside.

Dual Sunroof:

Normally, minivan don’t even offer a sunroof as an option but Kia Sedona not only have one sunroof in the front, it also offers a 2nd sunroof for the rear passengers so they can enjoy the sky view as well.

Untitled

Heated Seats & Ventilated Seats:

Heated seats for cold weather and ventilated seats for the hot summer, how thoughtful? Trust me, during this hot summer week, the moment I turned on the ventilated seats, I felt like I was sitting afloat on cold water, it felt good. Its a soothing feeling!

IMG_2815

Heated Steering Wheel:

Oh yes, during colder weather, not only your bum bum feels warm, so does your hands, the steering wheel warms up quickly and it warms at the perfect temperature so you won’t feel over heated. Because we all know, if the steering is too hot, you don’t want to have your hands there and thus, become a driving hazard. I am sure Kia engineers did so many experiments to find the perfect temperature point for Kia users! Well done! Loving the heated steering wheel.

IMG_2513

Power Liftgate + Dual Power Sliding Doors:

Imagine you are holding lots of groceries or you just too lazy to even flex your muscles to open the liftgate? No worries, with a few touches of the fob key (where all the buttons are), all doors will open nicely. It’s a very useful feature. I love it very much!

IMG_2395

360 View Cameras

In many vehicles nowadays, they come with backup camera. Although that’s great, Kia engineers and designers stepped up this technology to a few notches higher. It’s comes with a 360 camera that allows you (from the inside) to see the entire 360 of your vehicle from the touch screen. When you back up your minivan, not only you can see the exact rear, you can use the features in your touch screen and choose the exact rear left or rear right, just to see in detail if there are any objects lying on the rear right or rear left of your minivan. Even better, you can do the same for the front view. So far, I have been using this feature extensively and I wish every car company has such amazing feature.

There was one time when I made a left turn in a congested traffic jam, the car in front of me wanted to go to the middle lane, so part of its rear still blocking my lane and meanwhile that car is waiting to get into the middle lane in the traffic jam. Unsure how much space I have on my right side and not sure if I have enough to pass through this car in front of me, I clicked the touch screen, choose the front right view, I can see clearly that I have enough space to pass through. In the past, without such high-tech feature, I would be stuck in the traffic behind the car.

IMG_2599

Thanks for reading. Stay tuned for my in-depth driving review of this 2015 Kia Sedona SXL at a later time! And MoVernie is outta here!

IMG_2689 IMG_2605 IMG_2594 IMG_2524

Leave a Reply

